Home > NCAA > Top seeded MIAMI-OHIO advances to Frozen Four

Top seeded MIAMI-OHIO advances to Frozen Four

The Michigan Wolverines certainly didn’t go down without a fight. In the NCAA Midwest Regional Final, it took two overtimes to decide the winner. They thought they may have had it during the first OT, when there was a scramble in front of the net, but the whistle was blown before the puck was pushed into the net. Their opponent, the top seeded Miami University of Ohio RedHawks, scored at 1:54 of the second overtime sending them to the Frozen Four for the second straight year. They made it to the finals last year, falling to Boston University after leading 3-1 for all but the last 2 minutes of the game and overtime.

Miami will meet the Boston College Eagles in two weeks at Ford Field in Michigan for this years Frozen Four tournament. The winner of that game will play the winner of the Wisconsin/RIT contest.  The Wisconsin Badgers are no stranger to the Frozen Four having won it 6 times, the last being in 2006 when Ottawa Senators goaltender Brian Elliot was in goal. That same season, Wisconsin’s womens ice hockey team won their tournament as well. In their 5 seasons as a Division I team, the RIT Tigers have never made it to the Final Four. They have won two championships previously as a Division II and III team.

On behalf of Chicks Who Give A Puck, good luck to all teams involved in this years Frozen Four!

Categories: NCAA Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: