Home > Uncategorized > Playoff Journal: Sara

Playoff Journal: Sara


Let’s be honest, my brain is officially fried. Playoff hockey is the most intense nerve racking hockey all season long, and this year is no exception. For the past week and a half, I have been up until the wee hours of the morning trying to catch it all. Of course that’s not always possible as Versus feels they should have the rights to every game so that not every hockey fan can watch said games, but who am I to judge how they run their business. I am certainly not, as Andy Sutton would say, an expert.

And then there’s that joke. In my personal opinion, probably one of the best not really related to the actual game but kind of at the same time, situations of this playoffs. Does that man realize that he is the walking joke of the hockey world at the moment? I’m sure he cares just as much as Derek Boogaard cares about the fact that he can’t skate, so lets move on.

Every hockey fan has a ritual, and if they tell you they don’t they are lying. Being a fan of one of the most superstitious sports in the world takes a lot of work. Before every game, I must go home and wash my hair (yes, I am still a girl), put my game clothes on (i.e anything Penguins related that does/is not A) say anything about the Stanley Cup win last year  or B) one of my 4 Crosby jerseys), grab myself a beer, and settle down on my couch with my black Crosby jersey secure in my lap like a security blanket. That poor jersey goes through so much abuse. I can’t even tell you the amount of make-up and dirt that ends up on the white sleeve of my home sweater. And just the other day I got a little excited and spilled purple tinted beer on the sleeve as well. I hope it doesn’t stain cause that jersey does not get washed until after the season is over.

Call me crazy if you will, I know I have a problem, and the first step is admitting it right?

Courtney and Anthony from THE HOCKEYGUYS.net teamed up to try to figure out a more acceptable way for a woman to show her team dedication than to not shave their legs in an attempt to grow their own playoff “beard”. But I will tell you right now, I am not above it. It is Day 11 of the playoffs and they are not pretty, but my team is winning so no matter how tempted I am, they will just have to continue to grow. And don’t let Courtney’s rant about how inappropriate and disgusting it is fool you, she hasn’t shaved either 🙂

It has been tough getting through the work day since the playoffs began. Juggling a full time job, trying to get a business up and running, and fitting three to four games into your nightly routine is a lot to swallow. But I absolutely love it and wouldn’t have it any other way. I am true to my team but I have enjoyed cheering on others. Like you may have read in my profile, I have always been more of a player fan than a team fan, especially when it comes to goaltending. I have strong feelings as to why I feel so and so is better than his top competition and I won’t back down when it comes to an argument over the two, especially in the post season.

I absolutely hate the Wings but I have enjoyed watching Jimmy Howard. I can’t help it, the kid is playing like a vet. And Tuukka Rask and the Bruins, now that is even more fun to watch as the rookie takes on the hyped up Vezina candidate Ryan Miller. I have a soft spot for the Montreal Canadiens as I am no fan of Ovechkin and those Capitals, and even more so because I would love to see a first round upset, as long as it doesn’t involve my own team. And for Courtney’s sake I have been on her side with the Av’s, I even promised her I would rock an Avalanche t-shirt if they can make it to the conference finals as they have not been a much loved team in my heart since my early years.

And now it is Game Six this evening, and I have to admit I am a little nervous. Do I believe in my team? Absolutely. But I have never experienced a playoffs in my 22 years of life that have been so close and intense. Teams no one expected to win are winning, series’ that should be over still going, it is certainly anyone’s game. So realistically, there is always that chance that Ottawa can force a Game Seven. Hell, we forced one last year. But let’s just hope I can hold true to my statement after Thursday’s heartbreaking triple overtime loss, we like to win the important games on the opposing team’s ice anyways.

Stick around for more playoff journals from the Chicks….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

