Home > NHL > Final Playoff Journal: Sara

Final Playoff Journal: Sara


I’m really disappointed this will be my last playoff journal. I was looking forward to another long season, but obviously the hockey gods didn’t feel the same way. My hockey season is officially over, and I want to leave you with a few feelings. I all but hid under a rock yesterday, not answering calls, texts, emails, now its time to snap back to reality whether I’m still hurting or not.

What a mess. I will admit that I was one of those who thought we would get this one done early, and I have never been a fan of game sevens. I didn’t sleep much the night before, couldn’t nap much the day of the game. And when I finally sat down with my  beer and my jersey I was definitely not prepared for what I saw.

Let’s skip over how I felt about the Crosby boarding call, horrible defensive play by Gonch, and my cheering Flower out of the game (Sorry buddy). There are a number of different things you can blame this loss on, but the only thing that matters is that this is a team game. We lost, and we lost as a team.

I didn’t even finish watching the game. Once that 5th goal was in the back of the net, I turned it off and cried myself to sleep. Pathetic, yes. But personally, I would have rather fallen to Ottawa in round one then to have fallen to the Canadiens in round two, in a game seven. I’m not sure if I will continue watching the playoffs (cue the what kind of hockey fan is she insults) but if I do, you better believe I am jumping on the Phila/Bruins and Sharks bandwagons.

Why the Sharks you ask? Well, I have been cheering on the Hawks, as they are my hometown team, since the beginning of the playoffs. My hope was for a Pens/Hawks final, so I could see the Stanley Cup raised by my team right in my back yard. If my boys aren’t gonna make it that far, I don’t care for the Hawks to make it that far then either, with the only exception being a Cup run only to be lost due to the Hossa curse. That just might make me happy.

Sorry Hawks fans. But after an exit like that, I just don’t want the crap I will have to deal with all the way up until this time next year. It doesn’t matter that we won last year, made it to the finals the year before as well, or that Sid won the gold. I will be told that’s the past.But even then I will just laugh on the inside and think no, that’s not the “past” that’s history.

I have one final message to Pens fans everywhere. If you are truly getting upset with what Habs fans and Crosby haters around the world are saying right now, you haven’t been a fan very long. You learn to get used to it, and just laugh it off because if they had Sid or Geno on their team, they wouldn’t be hating, but they don’t…we do. And say what you want about their performance against the Habs, but the truth of the matter is, you can’t always judge a performance based on what the score sheet tells you. This is Sidney effing Crosby, the greatest all around hockey player in the world (Sorry, Mr. Ovechkin. wait…who am I kidding, no I’m not 🙂 ), he works harder than anyone else on and off the ice, the absence of goals or assists on that scoresheet was definitely from lack of trying.

So here’s to the off-season, may it bring well deserved rest for a team that has made it to the finals for two consecutive seasons, reasonable trades (this means keeping Staalzy and Geno, thank you) and a smooth transition to our new arena. The countdown to “opening day” begins….I’ll be there, will you?

Categories: NHL
  1. May 15, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I couldn’t watch the end of the game either, I was so disappointed. I was sure that the Pens would rise to the occasion and show their stuff. And boy, how to make Fleury feel like a goat – he doesn’t even get to sit on the bench with the rest of the team (poor design).
    I will however, watch the rest of the playoffs because it’s hockey. I can’t not watch.

    • May 15, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      It wasn’t that we lost, it was how that has kind of ruined the rest of the season for me. And all the people who felt we were less deserving of a run because of our performance last year.

      That’s Mellon though, hopefully Consol will be a little better but I have yet to really concentrate on the layout. But I think after the game he had, he was probably okay to be sitting back there.

      • May 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm

        Thing is – season wasn’t that bad, and really, there were a lot more players than Fleury that should’ve been hanging out in the back of beyond given their play…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

