Home > NHL > Daily Beast Article Angers Female Fans

Daily Beast Article Angers Female Fans


Just another shot at giving female hockey fans a bad name. Of course we don’t know what we’re talking about, of course we only watch the sport because the guys are hot, and now we get to add  we’ve seen the rings on the starlets who are lucky enough to have landed one to the never ending list of what makes up the stereotype of the female fan. The amount of female fans who take in a hockey game has apparently sky rocketed this year, and its all because we “like what we see.”

An article ran in the Daily Beast today entitled “Hockey Hunks Conquer Hollywood.” If you read the article, which don’t even waste your time, it talks about how the viewership among women has increased since last year and is at its highest since 1997. That’s fantastic that the ratings are up, but what really angered us was the blog’s ideas for the reasons behind it.

The insatiable appetite for celebrity gossip coverage, combined with the long history of sexual attraction among supermodels and actresses to hockey players, has exposed the sport to a whole new audience of young women. Thanks to starlets like Duff, Carrie Underwood, Elisha Cuthbert, and Willa Ford—all of whom are engaged to or dating NHL players—hockey’s hunks are showing up more on the pages of Us Weekly than Sports Illustrated. All, of course, except for Sean Avery—the New York Ranger seems to favor the fashion pages of the august Vogue. Apparently, these women like what they are seeing

Yes, because Carrie Underwood is the reason why I watch hockey. Don’t get me wrong, I like Carrie and okay,  there probably are women out there that do only watch the game because they saw the rock on Hillary Duff’s finger, we get it, but does it really need to be pointed out? There are women out there who love the game because of its intensity, its skill, its physical aspect, and if you had to even throw the, not-bad-looking-players-idea, on the list of a million reasons why we love the game, it wouldn’t be anywhere near the middle let alone the top.

Every day the real female fan has to defend her love for the sport, prove their knowledge,  and even then they are still sometimes looked at like they are just simply, a female. And why not with all the pink glittery jerseys and team two-piece bathing suits in the NHL shop? On top of that they now have to stumble upon articles like this one? An article in which the NHL actually retweeted on twitter.

The NHL’s VP of marketing, Brian Jennings had some thoughts as to why the ratings amongst women have changed. They weren’t bad and I was about to give credit where it was due, and then I read the last sentence….

Brian Jennings, the NHL’s executive vice president of marketing, attributes the growth in female viewership to the iconic teams in this year’s playoffs—still left standing are the Chicago Blackhawks and Philadelphia Flyers, who will face off in Game 3 of the Stanley Cup Finals on Wednesday night on Versus—and the sport’s “entertaining and unpredictable” nature. But even Jennings concedes that it doesn’t hurt to have younger stars like Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews, Mike Cammalleri, and Zach Parise, who are good-looking and articulate.

Seriously?

It does get a little better before it gets worse. If you click over to page two and disregard the comments from a mom who only watches because her husband does, there is an interesting point about the Olympics and the fact that women are playing more sports themselves today so it may no longer be considered “weird” for a female to watch such an “an aggressive, physical sport like hockey..” But the few nice things don’t make up for all the bad, and let me tell you it get’s even worse…

Bonnie Fuller, legendary editor of Us Weekly, Star and now the celebrity gossip website HollywoodLife.com, has a simpler and more materialistic view of why hockey is catching on with women: diamonds.

“Those girls got gigantic rings,” Fuller says of the diamonds given to Underwood and Duff. “Those huge hunks of ice are bound to catch a girl’s eye.”

Again, I have to say: Seriously?

And we here at CWGAP, are not the only ones who feel this way. Nicole from Pennsylvania is just as outraged,

“I think that this article completely gives the wrong depiction of why most female fans watch hockey.” She says.  “We go day in and day out battling the stereotype and just when it seems, in my opinion, we get a step forward, an article like this pops up to knocks up two steps back”

So I just want to thank the man who posted this article. Just when we thought we were closer to breaking the stereotype set upon us, something like this hits the net and we have to pause for damage control. On behalf of the real female hockey fans, I would like to just say thank you.

And by the way, has anyone seen the movie Slapstick?

Categories: NHL
  1. Terry
    June 2, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I understand and agree with your outrage but my disgust at the female hockey fan stereo typing also includes your blogs monikor.

    Sorry, “chick” is not in any way how I wish to identify myself. I am a female hockey writer and a longtime hockeyfan and I cringe at the title of your blog. Calling yourself, “chicks” who give a puck, is way too cutesy to be taken seriously.

    You women fell right in to the male trap with that one.

  2. June 2, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Terry :

    I understand and agree with your outrage but my disgust at the female hockey fan stereo typing also includes your blogs monikor.

    Sorry, “chick” is not in any way how I wish to identify myself. I am a female hockey writer and a longtime hockeyfan and I cringe at the title of your blog. Calling yourself, “chicks” who give a puck, is way too cutesy to be taken seriously.

    You women fell right in to the male trap with that one.

    Terry,
    I fail to see how having a creative blog title that grabs the attention of everyone from Reebok to Puck Daddy is ‘too cutesy.’ I apologize if the title I came up with offends you. Women should be able to be strong, smart, sexy as hell and still enjoy hockey. We shouldn’t have to be trolls or boring. This site is designed to promote women not tear them down. The good news is that now you know our site so you can avoid it to prevent yourself from cringing and creating unnecessary wrinkles.

    As always, thanks for the feedback.
    Courtney

  3. Sammy
    June 2, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I also do not see how a “cutesy” title would land women in to a male trap. I see a blog that signifies that they are girls and that they are not afraid to present their hockey knowledge and skills into a hockey world which revolves around male bloggers.

    Also, I am not trying to say ALL hockey male bloggers are smug against girls. Being in the blogging business, I’ve come to have found some great relationships with male bloggers, writers, designers ect,.. who respect me for who I am and respect my knowledge as well.

    To see this petty article about two B+, C- Hollywood stars makes me laugh and also infuriates me because that same label everyone is giving them is now put upon female fans who respect the game for what it is and not “hott guys” or in the article’s case “huge rocks in rings”..

  4. June 2, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    This was the line that killed me – “Those girls got gigantic rings,” Fuller says of the diamonds given to Underwood and Duff. “Those huge hunks of ice are bound to catch a girl’s eye.”

    Are they? Really? So basically, these guys are saying that all women are materialistic and shallow, and looking for a sugar daddy. They wouldn’t possibly have any interest in the player’s personality or sense of humor or athletic prowess or anything like that.

    Unlike most other sports, hockey players’ bodies are not on display. We don’t really get to see their faces all that clearly and when we do, they’re contorted in weird ways, teeth are bashed out by pucks, and they’re sweaty as all-get-out. If anything, hockey players are infamous for being *un*-attractive. So, clearly, the appeal to watching hockey isn’t “ooo, look at #27’s great butt”.

    A main reason I started my own blog and writing about hockey was 1. seeing all the PINK hockey gear made me gag – as if women would only be attracted to sports if it was femme’d up. Sorry, I want to wear my team’s colors, not pink. And 2., I could talk hockey better than 95% of my male friends. Surely there were other women out there who love the sport for the pure beauty of the sport, not because the players are “hot”. Let’s not even get me started on puckbunnies…

  5. Terry
    June 2, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Do you not find the term “chick” demeaning? A small furry cute defenseless critter is not who I identify with.

    As I said I agree with your premise concerning the article but also see you perpetrating the stereotype by calling yourselves chicks. I don’t have any problem with the “who give a puck” part.

    Sorry to have offended you.

  6. June 2, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Terry :

    Do you not find the term “chick” demeaning? A small furry cute defenseless critter is not who I identify with.

    As I said I agree with your premise concerning the article but also see you perpetrating the stereotype by calling yourselves chicks. I don’t have any problem with the “who give a puck” part.

    Sorry to have offended you.

    Terry,

    Of all the things female hockey fans are called i.e. Jersey Chasers, Puck Sluts, the term ‘chick’ is mild and to me not demeaning; I choose not to fight every battle. Some of our writers are in their late teens, I’m in my mid-twenties. We’re not girls, yet not women (and with that I just became a Britney Spears song.) Chicks is to encompass females of all ages. Not just ladies, not just girls, but ALL females. We thought of other terms that we could use but marketing and brand wise this was the best option. We hope that you look at the content of our site, past the catchy title used to draw you in and realize that we know our stuff. Recognize that our passion is just as intense as yours is. We as women have got to stop tearing each down over mole hills, no need to make them mountains.

    Courtney

  7. Terry
    June 2, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    We as women need to stop using negative, male created, nicknames for ourselves if we want to have the respect of both genders.

    I disagree with your “not demeaning” interpretation for the term chick. It is less demeaning than puckbunny, puckslut, or jersey chaser but certainly not a positive image for a strong smart sexy woman who also enjoys and knows the game of hockey.

    I have been to your site many times and enjoy it for the most part. The concept is good.

    I only felt compelled to respond to your outrage at the article you referenced by commenting that your blog name, in my opinion, perpetrates that stereotype.

  8. June 2, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Terry :

    We as women need to stop using negative, male created, nicknames for ourselves if we want to have the respect of both genders.

    I disagree with your “not demeaning” interpretation for the term chick. It is less demeaning than puckbunny, puckslut, or jersey chaser but certainly not a positive image for a strong smart sexy woman who also enjoys and knows the game of hockey.

    I have been to your site many times and enjoy it for the most part. The concept is good.

    I only felt compelled to respond to your outrage at the article you referenced by commenting that your blog name, in my opinion, perpetrates that stereotype.

    Terry,

    As much as women cannot be tearing each other down we also need to stop splitting hairs over silly matters such as the term ‘Chick’. It is not any more offensive than calling a guy ‘Dude’ which is hair on the elephant’s butt. Being hyper-sensitive to terms that are no longer demeaning just makes us look like we have a chip on our shoulder. We believe that being strong means not carrying along excess baggage especially if the intent is not to demean. We’ve got plenty of battles to fight as female fans, let’s be smart about the ones we pick and choose and not waste energy over every minute, petty term.

    In the end, let’s agree to disagree.
    Courtney

  9. Terry
    June 3, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Courtney,

    Agreed, suffice to say I admire what you are doing to promote female hockey writers and I apologize for any percieved negativity on my part.

    It may just be a generational thing.

    Terry

  10. June 3, 2010 at 1:26 am

    While the elephant butt seems to be an urban legend; dude did seem to start out being used “to denote an ill-bred and ignorant, but ostentatious, man from the city”(via Wiki). Now I will have to side with Courtney that ‘chick’ is basically the same as ‘dude'(although I don’t recall really ever using it, and dude is becoming more unisex). You should realize Terry, that words constantly evolve and loose and gain meanings and connotations all the time. One set of words that does have disparaging connotations is slut and stud. And really IMO, you really should be trying to own the words and take the negative away. But what do I know, I am a white male in the end.

    But in all seriousness, I really hope the LFL catches on, then perhaps we could get a LHL, and us guys could ‘enjoy the sport’ as much as you ladies apparently are. ;D

  11. June 3, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Back to the article itself – its amazing how many of my male friends are fond of the fact that they can sit and watch a game with someone who often knows more about the game than they do. I definitely call out the gent who wrote the article, but there are definitely guys out there who appreciate the fan, not the female – having been told by a random bunch that I ought to be commentating after watching a period of the Olympic Russia vs Canada game in a slightly sketchy local bar. As long as we keep at it, we will change the perception he is trying to perpetuate (as well as NHL marketing kings who think we like pink, tailored versions of our team’s jersey – sacrilege!).
    Go Flyers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

